Home » Uncategorized » Some parts of Colombo schools to be closed on nomination day

Some parts of Colombo schools to be closed on nomination day

Local News from Sri Lanka: Schools in three Colombo Education Zone divisions and three Sri Jayewardenepura Education Zone schools will be closed on October 7 as nominations for the 2019 Presidential Election are submitted. The Ministry of Education says that as a security measure, the Election Commission made the related application.

On October 07, the Minister of Education granted permission to the Western Provincial Director of Education to close the following schools: all schools in the central divisions of Borella, Colombo South and Colombo, President’s College, Rajagiriya, Maha Vidyalaya Hewavitharana, Rajagiriya and Hewavitharana Model Primary School, Rajagiriya.

Such schools will be closed next Monday (07) from 7:00 a.m. to 1.00 p.m. and several streets, including Sarana Mawatha in Rajagiriya, will be made off-limits for the public. The Election Commission said the area near Rajagiriya Junction will be kept closed for the members of the political party who arrive with the candidates to hand over their nominations to park their vehicles.